First Spin: Kiasmos

Ólafur Arnalds and Janus Rasmussen alias Kiasmos are back with another EP for Erased Tapes. After thier full-length debut back in 2014 the duo released also three EPs.

Kiasmos combines neo-classic with electronic elements in a perfect way. But that’s no wonder because both artists has his own completely different roots. Ólafur Arnalds has also released his 10th anniversary editon of “Eulogy for Evolution” in the past weeks. A review of that record will also appears in the next days. Thier newest EP called “Blurred” and entitled 4 new tracks and 2 re-works by Bonobo and Stimming. The EP follows the style of the predecessors: Neo-classic meets Electronic, so the beats matches the melodies perfectly. The best example for that is the self titled EP track “Blurred” with his own magical tone. Take a listen…

Rating: 3 out of 5.

First Spin: Joy Orbison

It’s been a while since the last official release from Joy Orbison. Since 2012 he only releases a bunch of singles and split tracks with his colleague Boddika. One of the best tracks comes from the Rush Hour Music compilation back in 2015. “A213” is IDM club music at it’s best.

It reminds me a little bit to the club oriented releases from Four Tet’s “Percussions” side project. By now Joy Orbision aka Peter O’Grady set to release two new efforts via his Bandcamp page. The two track single “Off Season / Fuerza” and the EP “Toss Portal”. “Toss Portal” is a sticky four track UK techno experiment. Here are some words from boomkat: “The reticulated funk of Rid cuts loose with a proper feminine pressure that recalls his earliest work, while the grumbling, cranky Walworth Window morphs with a more messed-up, kinkier appeal of his own, and Rite Ov even introduces a lilting reggae vocal, Main Street or Rhythm & Sound style, on a sloshing steppers groove.”

Rating: 3 out of 5.

First Spin: Rafael Anton Irisarri

I have never heard before about Rafael Anton Irisarri. Irisarri is an American composer, multi-instrumentalist, electronic music producer, interdisciplinary artist and curator. His music is similar to artists like Tim Hecker and Lawrence English. It’s a kind of ambient and drone music. Very unique and very special!

On October 23 he will released his new album called “A Fragile Geography” on Room 40. I’m getting the tip by a good friend of mine! He shared the first track of the record on facebook. Thanks for that! Resident Advisor wrote a view words about the record: “A Fragile Geography was two years in the making, and marks a difficult in transitional period in the American producer’s life. Not only did he move from Seattle, where he was a staple of the local electronic music scene, to upstate New York, but he was robbed in the process and lost almost all of his gear. The record is also said to reflect “the tensions of contemporary America, contrasting passages of great beauty and calm with harrowing waves of density and pressure.” As with past records under Irisarri’s given name, A Fragile Geography will come via Australian experimental imprint Room40.“ Below you can hear the track “Empire Systems”. What a massive drone tune, can’t wait to listen to the whole record..!

Rating: 5 out of 5.